Leo Harvey Diegel (April 20, 1899 – May 5, 1951) was an American professional golfer of the 1920s and early 1930s. He captured consecutive PGA Championships, played on the first four Ryder Cup teams, and is a member of the World Golf Hall of Fame.[3] Born in Gratiot Township, Wayne County, Michigan,[4] Diegel began caddying at age ten[1] and won his first significant event at age 17, the 1916 Michigan Open. He was a runner-up in the U.S. Open in 1920, one stroke behind champion Ted Ray. He won 30 PGA circuit events, and was a four-time winner of the Canadian Open (1924–25, 1928–29); a record for that event. In 1925, Diegel outperformed over 100 competitors to win the Florida Open (billed as the “Greatest Field Of Golfers Ever to Play in Florida”) at the Temple Terrace Golf and Country Club. Diegel was selected for the first four Ryder Cup teams in 1927, 1929, 1931, and 1933. His greatest season was 1928, with wins at the Canadian Open and the 1928 PGA Championship, where he stopped the four-year winning streak of Walter Hagen. Diegel defeated him in the quarterfinal to avenge earlier defeats in the 1925 quarterfinal and the 1926 final. Diegel achieved the rare feat of defending both titles successfully in 1929, this time defeating Hagen in the semifinals of the PGA. Diegel was a runner-up to Bobby Jones at the British Open in 1930. Diegel was an excellent ball-striker, but struggled with his putting after joining the Tour. After extensive experimentation, he eventually developed an unusual putting style where he pointed both elbows outwards; this was referred to as ‘Diegeling’. He was a tour winner from 1920 to 1934, but dropped out of regular contention when he reached his mid-30s; an automobile accident in 1938 ended his tour career. Diagnosed with throat and lung cancer in 1947, Diegel died at home in North Hollywood, California in 1951 at age 52;[1][5] he had taken a position there as a club professional after scaling back his Tour play. Diegel was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2003. Contents 1 Professional wins (37) 1.1 PGA Tour wins (30) 1.2 Other wins (7) 2 Major championships 2.1 Wins (2) 2.2 Results timeline 2.3 Summary 3 See also 4 References 5 External links Professional wins (37) PGA Tour wins (30) 1920 (1) Pinehurst Fall Pro-Am Bestball (with Tommy Armour) 1921 (1) Coronado Beach Open 1922 (1) Shreveport Open 1923 (1) District of Columbia Open Championship 1924 (3) Shawnee Open, Canadian Open, Illinois Open 1925 (5) Florida Open, Canadian Open, Middle Atlantic Open, Mid-Southern Amateur-Professional, Mid South All Pro 1926 (1) Middle Atlantic Open 1927 (2) Middle Atlantic Open, San Diego Open 1928 (4) Long Beach Open (January; tie with Bill Mehlhorn), Canadian Open, PGA Championship, Massachusetts Open 1929 (4) San Diego Open, Miami International Four-Ball (with Walter Hagen), Canadian Open, PGA Championship 1930 (3) Pacific Southwest Pro, Oregon Open, San Francisco Open-Match Play 1933 (1) California Open 1934 (2) Rochester Open, New England PGA Major championships are shown in bold. Note: The PGA Tour[6] and World Golf Hall of Fame[7] list Diegel with 30 wins. The PGA Tour book History of the PGA Tour lists only the 29 wins above.[8] Other wins (7) this list is probably incomplete 1916 Michigan Open 1919 Michigan Open 1922 Louisiana Open 1926 Maryland Open 1931 California Open 1933 Timber Point Open, Southern California Open Major championships Wins (2) Year Championship Winning score Runner-up 1928 PGA Championship 6 & 5 United States Al Espinosa 1929 PGA Championship 6 & 4 United States Johnny Farrell Note: The PGA Championship was match play until 1958 Results timeline Tournament 1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929 U.S. Open T2 T26 7 T8 T25 8 T3 T11 T18 T8 The Open Championship DNP DNP DNP T25 DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP 3 PGA Championship R32 DNP DNP DNP R32 QF 2 DNP 1 1 Tournament 1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939 Masters Tournament NYF< T16 T19 DNP DNP DNP DNP U.S. Open T11 3 4 T17 T17 CUT DNP DNP DNP DNP The Open Championship T2 DNP DNP T3 DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP PGA Championship R16 R32 DNP R32 R32 DNQ DNQ R64 R32 R32 NYF = Tournament not yet founded DNP = Did not play DNQ = Did not qualify for match play portion CUT = missed the half-way cut R64, R32, R16, QF, SF = Round in which player lost in PGA Championship match play "T" indicates a tie for a place Green background for wins. Yellow background for top-10. Summary Tournament Wins 2nd 3rd Top-5 Top-10 Top-25 Events Cuts made Masters Tournament 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 2 U.S. Open 0 1 2 4 8 14 16 15 The Open Championship 0 1 2 3 3 4 4 4 PGA Championship 2 1 0 4 5 12 13 13 Totals 2 3 4 11 16 32 35 34 Most consecutive cuts made – 31 (1920 U.S. Open – 1935 Masters) Longest streak of top-10s – 4 (twice) See also List of golfers with most PGA Tour wins References "Golfer Leo Diegel dies after lingering illness". Milwaukee Journal. Associated Press. May 9, 1951. p. 6-part 2. Retrieved May 9, 2013. "Another prize for golf pro". Florence Times (Florence, Alabama). February 22, 1934. p. 6. Retrieved May 9, 2013. Trenham, Peter C. "The Leaders and The Legends: 1930 to 1939" (PDF). PGA: Philadelphia Section. p. 2. Retrieved June 5, 2013. "Michigan, Births, 1867–1902". "Leo Diegel dies of long illness". Miami Daily News. Associated Press. May 9, 1951. p. 13-A. Retrieved May 9, 2013. Avery, Brett (February 11, 2007). "Open collapse now history as 30th Tour trophy is on mantle". PGA Tour. "Mickelson posted his 30th Tour triumph, joining Leo Diegel at 16th on the all-time list." "World Golf Hall of Fame profile". Retrieved June 16, 2014. Barkow, Al (1989). The History of the PGA Tour. Doubleday. p. 276. ISBN 0-385-26145-4. External links